Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This week I cooked something healthy for the family.  A nicely steamed fish with some fresh vegetables. Without taking for granted the subtle flavour of the salmon, I cooked a subtle dish to accompany it – steamed new potatoes.

Having a limited time and children with healthy appetites make cooking somewhat a challenge- as long as they eat it all and I can take photographs of the food, I am happy 🙂

The sliced salmon was dipped in a bowl of lemon juice, seasoned with salt and pepper and arranged on top of thinly sliced ginger which I lay at the bottom of the steamer.

In another container, I put even sized new potatoes which I seasoned with salt..  I cooked the potatoes for about 30 minutes (or until it is tender) and the fish for about 15-20 minutes.

Then  I  mixed  a pot of creme fraiche, a couple of table spoons of lemon juice, chopped chives, chopped parsley and some salt and pepper to taste for the sauce. This is not too strong nor it is too bland for both the potatoes and the fish.

And voila! a simple, healthy and tasty lunch my kids love.

The fish can also be served with stir-fried vegetables without the creme fraiche sauce.

